Chiropractic CE

Chiropractic Continuing Education Requirements

Chiropractic Continuing Education Requirements by State

 

Alaska

Alaska requires chiropractors to complete 32 Chiropractic Continuing Education hours every two years before December 31st. Out of the 32 hours, 2 must be in coding and documentation, 2 must be in ethics and boundaries, two must be in CPR, and 8 hours in radiographic safety, radiographic techniques and interpretation or diagnostic imaging. Only 16 hours out of 32 may be in distance learning. For more information on chiropractic continuing education requirements, visit the board website at: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofChiropracticExaminers.aspx

 

California

Chiropractic licensees are required to obtain 24 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours every two years before June 8th. Out of the 24 CEs, 2 hours must be in ethics and law and 4 hours must be in in the following subject areas: history taking and physical examination procedures, chiropractic adjustive techniques, chiropractic manipulation techniques, or ethical billing and coding. A maximum of 12 hours can be completed through distance learning. For more information, visit the board’s website at: https://www.chiro.ca.gov/

 

Colorado

Licensees are required to complete 15 hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every year. Only 10 of the required 15 hours may be taken online. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Chiropractic

 

Connecticut

Chiropractic licensees are required to complete 48 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours every two years. Out of the 48 hours, 2 hours minimum must be in mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans, 1 hour must be in manual therapies for chronic pain/management of patients during opioid crisis, 1 hour in Lyme Disease, and 1 hour in Medical marijuana. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Public-Health-Hearing-Office/State-Board-of-Chiropractic-Examiners/State-Board-of-Chiropractic-Examiners

Delaware

Delaware chiropractors must complete 24 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours biennially. Out of these 24 hours, 3 credit hours must contain ethics, record-keeping, or risk management. Only 6 hours may be completed online. For more information, visit the board website at: https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/chiropractic/

 

District of Columbia

Licensees are required to complete 30 Hours of Continuing Education every two years. 10 hours of these hours must include 3 hours in communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDs), 2 hours in the subject of LGBTQ cultural competency, 5 hours in ethics, risk management, documentation and record keeping, or cultural competency.  For more information, please visit the board website at: https://dchealth.dc.gov/service/board-chiropractic 

 

Idaho

Chiropractors in Idaho must complete 18 Continuing Education Hours every year. Out of the 18 hours, only 6 hours can be in distance learning courses. For more information, visit the board website at: https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardPage.aspx?Bureau=chi

 

Illinois

Chiropractors in Illinois are required to complete 150 Continuing Education Hours every 3 years. A minimum of 60 hours of required CME shall be obtained in formal CME programs and a maximum of 90 hours of the required CME shall be obtained in informal CME programs or activities. For more information, please visit the board’s website at: https://www.idfpr.com/profs/chiropractor.asp

 

Iowa

Iowa chiropractors are required to complete 40 hours of Continuing Education biennially on even numbered years. Out of those 40 hours, 2 must be in professional boundaries and 1 must be in Iowa Administrative code. 16 out of the 40 hours may be obtained in distance learning courses. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://idph.iowa.gov/licensure/iowa-board-of-chiropractic

 

Kansas

After one year, chiropractors must complete 50 hours (minimum of 20 hours in Cat l), after two years they must complete 100 hours (minimum of 40 hours in Cat l), and after 3 years, 150 hours (minimum of 60 hours in Cat l). For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.ksbha.org/professions/DC.shtml

 

Maine

Chiropractors must complete 48 Continuing Education Hours biennially. Only 12 hours out of the 48 may be taken in distance learning courses. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/chiropractors/index.html

 

Maryland

Maryland chiropractic licensees must complete 48 hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education biennially before August 31st. Out of the 48 hours, 3 hours must be in communicable disease (including HIV/AIDs) and 5 hours in risk management (of which 1 must be on jurisprudence). For more information, please visit the board website at: https://health.maryland.gov/chiropractic/Pages/index.aspx

 

Massachusetts

Licensees in Massachusetts must complete 12 Hours of Continuing Education every year before March 31st. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/board-of-registration-of-chiropractors

 

Michigan

Licensees are required to complete 30 Hours of Continuing Education for license renewal. Out of the 30 hours, 1 hour must be in sexual boundaries, 1 must be in ethics, 1 must be in pain and symptom management, 2 live in person continuing education hours in physical measures, and 2 live in person continuing hours in performance and ordering of tests. No more than 15 of the 30 hours may be in distance learning courses. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600_72603_27529_27531—,00.html

 

Minnesota

Licensees are required to complete 20 hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every year. Out of the 20 hours, 3 hours must be in x-ray or imaging, 1 hour in professional boundaries, 2 hours in acupuncture (if registered to perform acupuncture services), and 6 hours in animal chiropractic (if registered). For more information, please visit the board website at: https://mn.gov/boards/chiropractic-examiners/

 

Montana

Licensees in Montana are required to complete 12 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every year. Out of the 12 hours, no more than 2 hours can be in philosophy or practice management. Four hours must be in professional ethics & boundaries every four year reporting period. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/chi

 

Nebraska

Licensees must complete 36 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education before August 1st of each even numbered year. Out of these 36 hours, 4 must be in technical skills in x-ray or adjustive techniques, and 4 must be in HIV/AIDs, infection diseases, boundary training, lab testing and interpretation; physical, neurological and orthopedic exam; fraud prevention; rehab; ethics; OR use of unlicensed personnel. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Chiropractic.aspx

 

Nevada

Licensees in Nevada must complete 36 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every  two years before December 31st. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://chirobd.nv.gov/

 

New Jersey

New Jersey chiropractic licensees are required to complete 30 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every two years. Only 12 of those 30 hours may be completed in asynchronous distance learning courses. 2 out of the 30 hours must be in state laws regarding ethics or record keeping and 2 hours must be in nutrition education. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/chi/Pages/default.aspx 

 

New Mexico 

New Mexico licensees are required to complete 16 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours annually for license renewal. Only 8 of those 16 hours may be obtained in distance learning. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/chiropractic_examiners.aspx

 

New York

Licensees are required to complete 36 hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education during each 3 year registration period. 24 of those 36 hours must be formal courses and no more than 12 hours may be obtained through self study. For information regarding New York Chiropractic Continuing Education Requirements, please visit the board website at: http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/chiro/

 

North Carolina 

Licensees are required to complete 18 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every year for license renewal. Out of these 18 hours, 10 must be in classroom study and a maximum of 8 hours can be obtained through online study. Also, a minimum of 2 professional development (self reported hours) are required. For more information, visit the board website at: https://ncchiroboard.com/

 

North Dakota

Chiropractic licensees are required to complete 20 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education for license renewal. Every three years, four hours of professional boundaries hours are required as well. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.ndsbce.org/

 

Ohio

Ohio chiropractic licensees are required to complete 36 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every two years. Out of those 36 hours, 2 must be in a Board Mandated Topic, such as ethics and professionalism, human trafficking awareness, or rules of the Board. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://chirobd.ohio.gov/

 

Oregon

Licensees are required to complete 20 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours each year. For more information, visit the board website at: https://www.oregon.gov/OBCE/Pages/index.aspx

 

Pennsylvania

Licensees are required to complete 24 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours each biennial renewal period. Out of the 24 hours, 2 hours must be in approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Chiropractic/Pages/default.aspx

 

Puerto Rico

Licensees are required to complete 45 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every three years. Out of those 45 hours, 3 hours must be in risk management and 3 hours must be on the topic of AIDS (Infectious Disease). Only 15 of the 45 hours are allowed in distance learning courses. 

 

Rhode Island

Licensees are required to complete 60 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education per 3 year registration cycle. 50 of those 60 hours must be in clinically related courses and only 30 hours are allowed in distance learning courses. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=250

 

South Carolina

Licensees are required to complete 36 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours per two year renewal cycle. Out of the 36 hours, 2 hours must be in South Carolina Rules & Regulations and 2 hours must be in risk management. Only 18 of the 36 hours may be obtained through distance learning. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.llr.sc.gov/pol/chiropractors/

 

South Dakota

Chiropractic licensees in South Dakota are required to complete 40 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours per 2 year renewal cycle. Chiropractors must also maintain current CPR certification. Chiropractics who are also certified in acupuncture must complete 8 hours of Acupuncture CE. For more information, please visit the board website: https://doh.sd.gov/boards/chiropractic/

 

Tennessee 

Tennessee Chiropractic licensees are required to complete 24 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours per 1 year renewal cycle. Out of the 24 hours, 3 hours must be in sexual boundaries training, 2 hours must be in AIDS awareness/risk prevention, and if 6 hours acupuncture required if certified. Only 6 out of the 24 hours may be obtained through distance learning. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/health-professional-boards/chiro-board.html

 

Texas

The state of Texas requires 32 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours biennially. Out of the 32 hours, 3 hours must be in Board rules including the Board’s code of ethics, record-keeping, documentation, and coding. Also, 1 hour of risk management relating to the practice of chiropractic in Texas is required. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.tbce.state.tx.us/

 

Utah 

Licensees are required to complete 40 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours every even numbered year. No more than 4 hours may be in marketing or practice building and no more than 10 hours may be completed in distance learning. Licensees who practice acupuncture must complete 10 hours in acupuncture. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://dopl.utah.gov/chiro/index.html

Vermont

Vermont chiropractors are required to complete 24 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every two years.  Practice management, finance, and philosophy courses are prohibited. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/chiropractic.aspx

 

Virginia

Virginia chiropractic licensees must complete 60 Hours of Chiropractic Continuing Education every two years for license renewal. A minimum of 30 hours must be in Type 1 CE (approved by the board, includes PACE) and a maximum of 30 hours in Type 2 CE (Not approved by the board). For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.virginiachiropractic.org/page/85

 

Washington 

The state of Washington requires 25 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours per year. Only 12 out of the 25 hours may be obtained through distance learning. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/Chiropractor

 

Wyoming

Licensees must obtain 12 Chiropractic Continuing Education Hours every year. Out of those 12 hours, a minimum of 8 hours shall be earned at in person conferences or hands on training. Only 4 out of the 12 required hours may be obtained through online learning. For more information, please visit the board website: https://chiropractic.wyo.gov/

×